The official website of the Washington Grain Commission and Washington Association of Wheat Growers.

About the Washington Grain Commission

The Washington Grain Commission (WGC), effective July 27, 2009, was created through state legislation by merging the Washington Wheat Commision (WWC) and the Washington Barley Commission (WBC). The WWC and WBC were originally created by producers in 1958 and 1985, respectively, to fund industry self-help programs through assessments on each bushel of wheat and barley sold.

The Washington Grain Commission is a self-governing agency of the State of Washington. The WGC enhances the profitability of Washington wheat and barley growers and meets ever-increasing market demands by:

  • Strengthening existing markets and developing new markets for PNW small grains

  • Encouraging and supporting research  to optimize  grower, buyer and end user benefits

  • Promoting and providing education

The WGC board of directors is made up of eleven members, including seven producer members representing 20 eastern Washington counties, three representatives of allied industries, and one representative from the Washington State Department of Agriculture. The WGC allocates assessment funds to programs designed to enhance the production and marketing of Washington wheat and barley. Three major categories of funding include:

  • Wheat Research
  • Market Development
  • Education and Information
The annual assessment on wheat in Washington is three-quarters of one percent of the net receipts at the first point of sale.

The annual assessment on barley in Washington is one percent of the net receipts at the first point of sale.

Assessments from wheat and barley and subsequent expenditures are tracked separately to prevent crossover of funds.

Our 2013-2016 strategic plan summary can be found here.

Want to see photos of board meetings, WGC-sponsored events and our commissioners? Visit our Flickr page.


MIKE EAGLE, District I Wheat (Spokane, Lincoln, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille)
Randy Suess, District II Wheat (Whitman)
Brit Ausman, District III Wheat (Columbia, Walla Walla, Garfield, Asotin)
Mike Miller, District IV Wheat (Adams, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Okanogan)
Dana Herron, District V Wheat (Benton, Franklin, Kittitas, Klickitat, Yakima)
Steve Claassen, District VI Barley (Whitman, Asotin, Columbia, Garfield, Walla Walla, Benton, Franklin, Klickitat, Yakima)
EDDIE JOHNSON, District VII Barley (Lincoln, Spokane, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Adams, Grant, Douglas, Okanogan, Chelan, Kittitas)
DAMON FILAN, Wheat Industry Representative
Ty Jessup, Wheat Industry Representative
Vacant, Barley Industry Representative
Brad Avy, Washington State Dept. of Agriculture


GLEN SQUIRES -  Chief Executive Officer
SCOTT YATES - Director of Communications & Producer Relations
SHEILA MCCREA - Finance & Administrative Specialist
PARKER DAWSON - Systems & Data Processing Specialist
SHARI MCCARTHY - Receptionist/Account Specialist